12 for 2012: Progress So Far!

So, the new year is in full swing and I’ve got goals to accomplish.  I’m happy to report that I’ve made some progress thus far!

Get my novel Someone’s Watching on the market.

My first attempt is going to be for the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Contest.  I’ve been gradually working on editing, but I need to take another look at the entry guidelines and such.

Get up at a decent hour and write every weekday for Textbroker.

I haven’t been very faithful about the “decent hour” thing, but I have been writing every day.  Baby steps.

Finish writing that business plan by the end of February.

I’ve been doing some market research and I have a basic outline.  I’m still wading through statistics and trying to figure them out.

Read at least two completely new books each month.

This is going exceptionally well.  I finished Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants last weekend and am almost finished with the first book in Terry Brooks’s Genesis of Shannara series.  Next month I plan to finish the trilogy and then move on to some classics I’ve had sitting on my shelf a while.

Write reviews of each of the 24 books I read.

Look for a review of the book and movie adaptation Water for Elephants in the next few days!

Keep a writer’s notebook.

Lots of lovely scribbles already 🙂

 

These aren’t all of my goals, but 50% isn’t bad for only the third week of January.  How are your 12 for 2012 going?

5 thoughts on “12 for 2012: Progress So Far!

  1. Oh also….Water for Elephants is such an amzing book, I absolutely loved it…the film adaptation wasn’t too bad either…. 🙂

  2. These are great New Year’s Resolutions, some of mine are slightly similar. Stick to it and glad your making progress. 🙂

  3. Some things are moving forward with my list as well. A few items have to do with social networking. I set fairly easy goals that were intended to encourage more consistent postings on my blog, Facebook, and Twitter sites, and there is improvement. I have been working on HotJ rewrites as planned, and queries for TE will go out in the next couple days.

    I have slacked off on my reading. I’m only on my first novel, but if I settle down a bit this evening,(and get off the computer for a couple hours,) I can finish it up and get started on the next.

    So far, so good.

    Laura

  4. What did you think of Water for Elephants? One of the canary reviewers posted about it a while back and complained that she ended up over-analyzing it and the narrator there. Seems like it really is nothing more than what it pretends to be!

    What were your impressions?

Leave a comment

